Our site is using cookies to record anonymous visitor statistics and enhance your user experience. OK |  Find out more

Skip navigation

Conservation of Historic British Bases in Antarctica

See Also

BAS is not responsible for the content of external sites.

Several of the old British stations have been designated as Historic Sites and Monuments (HSMs) under the Antarctic Treaty. These include:

  • Port Lockroy (Base A) (HSM 61 managed by the UK)
  • Whalers Bay, Deception Island (Base B) (HSM 71 managed by Chile/Norway/UK)
  • Stonington Island (Base E) (HSM 64 managed by UK)
  • Wordie House, Argentine Islands (Base F) (HSM 62 managed by UK/Ukraine)
  • Damoy Point (Base R) (HSM 84 managed by the UK)
  • Detaille Island (Base W) (HSM 83 managed by the UK)
  • Horseshoe Island (Base Y) and Blaiklock, the nearby refuge hut (HSM 63 managed by UK)

Several of these HSMs are under the management of the UK Antarctic Heritage Trust.

In addition to the above huts, the Reclus hut was dismantled from Portal Point in 1997 and taken to the Museum in Stanley, Falkland Islands, where it has been rebuilt as a museum exhibit.

A full list of Historic Sites and Monuments designated or managed in part by the UK, including those in the Ross Sea region of Antarctica can be found on the Secretariat of the Antarctic Treaty website.