Our site is using cookies to record anonymous visitor statistics and enhance your user experience. OK |  Find out more

Skip navigation

Stations and Sites

See Also

BAS is not responsible for the content of external sites.

Based in Cambridge, UK, British Antarctic Survey operates four research stations throughout the year in the Antarctic. The stations are:

In addition during the summer months biological research is carried out at:

  • Signy, South Orkney Islands

In support of aircraft operations based at Rothera research station, two important logistics facilities are opened each summer, providing depots and staging posts for fuels and field equipment.

Field huts and hides have been built on Bird Island, Signy Island and Alexander Island, and on two islands close to Rothera in Ryder Bay, Lagoon Island and Léonie Island.

Since its inception the British Antarctic Survey has occupied 19 research stations. The stations no longer in use are managed according to the Protocol on Environmental Protection to the Antarctic Treaty.

BAS also operates Ny-Ålesund research station in the Arctic, on behalf of the Natural Environment Research Council (NERC).